Review: The Guild Hunter Series

guild-huntersThe Guild Hunter Series. Written by Nalini Singh (all 11 books to date)

Including: Angel’s Blood, Archangel’s Kiss, Archangel’s consort, Archangel’s storm, Archangel’s Blade, Archangel’s Legion, Archangel’s Shadows, Archangel’s Enigma, Archangel’s Heart, Archangel’s Viper, Archangel’s Prophecy.

Angels rule over humans and vampires, but the most powerful of them all are the archangels. Beautiful. Deadly. Sometimes cruel. Always unpredictable. There are several different groups represented – the archangels, the angels, the vampires, and the Guild Hunters.

Alrighty. So these books I read over the holidays as well in Europe. This is 100% my guilty pleasure series. I read like I have not read since I was a teenager. I had the first book downloaded and read for Europe, then I had issues with my kindle connecting to the cruise ship wifi so had to shift to my phone Kindle app. I read in every possible place that I could, and literally would finish one book and buy the next instantly. (It is he only time every my husband and I have fought about my spending on books!)

I read for nearly the whole 17 hour flight from Dubai! If I was not reading I was sleeping – I had zero interest in my entertainment device in front of me!  Once I got home, I would wake up in the night to check the time, and end up reading for four hours, before sleeping a tiny bit again and then getting up to do the daily things that I had to do! I literally could not put these books down. My biggest disappointment was when I realised that the next book was not yet published.  But now that is actually an excitement as I get to go to the launch with the author!

Once I had finished all that had been published I literally wanted to turn around and start reading them again – I probably would have if it was not for that pesky thing called work!!

These books like I have said are 100% guilty pleasure. While I think everyone who loves fantasy should read them, they are not books that I would recommend my classes, nor do I see anyway to bring them into my classes.

So what did I enjoy? I enjoyed the merging of all the different aspects, the guild hunters, angels, archangels and vampires and mortals all living in the same world, and the hierarchy that develops. I loved the sleeping ancients and the way the world politics were worked out. I loved the relationships. I loved the setting, both New York, which was familiar, but also the Angel Keep, which sounded wondrously romantic. I loved that all books continued the same story but were told from different points of view.  I also love that she is a kiwi author.

It is hard to be critical of these books, and I honestly can see that I am totally biased, in terms of I am not being critical. But I am OK with that. I am OK with the concept of falling in love with a series and desperately wanting to live in that world.  I feel like the last time I felt like this I was year 10 and was with the Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden.

Mrs K
Genre: Fantasy, speculative fiction, urban fantasy, paranormal, romance

Published by

Mrs K

A teacher and a book lover! A mother, a wife, a sister, a friend, a teacher, a daughter, a granddaughter. We get so busy so quickly it is nice to take the time to ponder and wonder and reflect!

One thought on “Review: The Guild Hunter Series”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s